9 September 2017

The Russian Pavilion at EXPO-2017 won the gold medal of the International Exhibition Bureau for the first time

The ceremony of awarding individual and collective pavilions in the nominations of Exhibition Theme Development and Exhibition Design was held on September 9 within the framework of the International Exhibition Bureau (BIE) Day at EXPO-2017.

115 national pavilions and 22 pavilions of international organizations presented advanced technological innovations in the field of alternative energy sources were candidates for medals.

The official pavilions of the exhibition were divided into 4 categories: A (individual, more than 700 sq.m.), D (individual, 400-700 sq.m.), C (individual, less than 350 sq.m.), and D (collective).

The National Pavilion of the Russian Federation with an area of 1008 sq.m. was included in the category A and received a gold medal in nomination of Exhibition Design. The silver medal was awarded to the Great Britain, the bronze one - to the Republic of Korea. Russia got gold as a participant for the first time since 1851, when the first EXPO was held in London.

Georgy Kalamanov, General Commissioner of the Russian participation at EXPO-2017, Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation, personally received the award.

Denis Manturov, Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation, commented on the event:
"This is a high assessment of the work of the whole team. The project has lasted for many years and we are glad that our work and the contribution of the Russian Pavilion to the success of the whole EXPO-2017 exhibition received the highest award. We thank all our partners, sponsors, and participants of the business program for their support.

The Russian Federation has been a permanent participant of EXPO since 1851, but it has never hosted hosted the exhibition. We have applied for the right to host EXPO 2025 in the city of Yekaterinburg. I am sure that our gold in Astana proves that Russia is a worthy organizer of such large-scale events," the Minister emphasized.

The jury members were official representatives of the International Exhibition Bureau: Steen Christensen, its President, and Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, the Secretary General, as well as 4 commission members appointed by the organizers and three experts from the BIE.

Members of the jury headed by Steen Christensen visited all pavilions of participating countries three times. The winners were determined according to a number of criteria including the work results since the exhibition opening as well as the results of tours around pavilions.
The EXPO-2017 International Exhibition solemn closing ceremony will be held in the exhibition complex on September 10. A large-scale show with the participation of 2232 people including official representatives of participating countries and volunteers will take place during the celebration.

The Russian participation was organized by the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation. The operator of the Russian participation is FORMIKA Group of Companies.